1999 Powerscourt Ridge Race

Report by Douglas Barry

Robin Bryson powered away from a varied field to win the 8.5 mile Powerscourt Ridge race over Maulin and Djouce mountains on Saturday 6th November 1999. Leinster League Champion Noel Berkeley also was in the entry, but a repeat of their epic battle on the Crone trial was not to be. Noel was only back after injury. However, he paid his entry fee in good spirits, saying "It's just going to be a hill session for me: I'm not racing today!"

Robin eased away from the opposition, led by Justin May, on the steep fire break and came in the fastest time on this course since it was moved to its winter slot. The winning time of 67 minutes was naturally some way off the incredible winning time of 59 mins 45 secs set by John Lenihan in 1991. However, that time was set in the summer of 1991, the course was bone dry, it was the selection race for the Worlds in Switzerland, and three weeks later, the Kerryman was the World Champion.

Behind Robin, history was being made as Edel Mooney (Raheny Shamrocks) with only two mountain races to her credit steamed around the course. Edel, who finished second in the trial race on Crone, and finished first of the Irish team at the Worlds in Borneo, eased away from Una May and lopped over 9 minutes from Majella Diskin's record to finish in 81 mins 45 secs. Una who faded badly later - she was exhausted after her outstanding win in the Karrimor International the previous weekend - hung on to finish second.

POS	NAME	TIME	CAT
1	Robin Bryson	67.05	
2	Justin May	74.40	1 st M 40
3	Hugh McLindon	76.12	
4	Mark Baker	77.05	
5	Richie McCauley	79.35	
6	Eoin Keith	80.43	
7	Jimmy Synnott	81.15	
8	Edel Mooney	81.45	1 st Lady
9	Michael Walters	82.03	
10	Paul Mahon	83.40	
11	Paul Cullen	86.52	
12	John O'Connell	87.10	
13	Vivian O'Gorman	88.52	M40
14	Joe Lalor	88.59	M40
15	Úna May	91.55	F
16	Brian Bell	93.05	M40
17	Don Mayer	94.55	
18	Bruce Shenker	100.05	M40
19	Mathew Alexander	100.25	M40

20	Nina Philips	101.15	F
21	Graham Porter	101.16	M40
22	Gavan Doherty	103.65	
23	Joe Morrissey	104.00	
24	Eva Mulleady	119.55	F
25	Frank Murphy	122.55	M40
26	Jimmy O'Brien	124.05	M50
27	Tommy Galvin	125.15	
28	Eithne McShane	127.55	F
29	Danny Toye	128.00	M50
1	Ross Alexander	43.20	J
2	Diarmuid O'Colman	54.40	M40
3	Brendan Doherty	58.05	M40
4	James Higgins	67.35	
5	Mike Gomm	83.45	M60

Entries: Vivian O'Gorman, Douglas Barry

Finish: Douglas Barry

Results: Joe Lalor

Web: Douglas Barry